World Finals 101: Competition Format


The 2024 World Finals began with the four-day Eliminations on May 9-12 at Cowtown Coliseum. The Top 40 in the UTB standings, plus five invites, each attempted one bull per round. Out of the Elimination rounds, 20 riders advanced to AT&T Stadium for the Championship Rounds on May 18-19 – the Top 15 in the UTB standings, plus the Top 5 riders in the aggregate that had not already qualified.

Riders not meeting either criteria competed in the Ride for Redemption rounds on May 15-16, also at Cowtown Coliseum. There, the 25 contestants not already advancing plus 15 invites competed in two additional rounds, with the Top 5 in the aggregate advancing to the Championship Rounds.

The Championship Rounds started with a clean slate and consisted of the 25 qualifiers competing in two rounds per day. At the end of the fourth round, Cassio Dias, the highest-ranked rider in the UTB standings, was crowned the PBR World Champion.

The event format will be the same for the 2025 PBR World Finals.